Graphic version of this page

Members of the BRISMES Committee on Academic Freedom

The BRISMES Committee on Academic Freedom was set up to monitor and defend academic freedom in the research, study and teaching of Middle East Studies in the UK and anywhere in the world, including in academic institutions in the Middle East and North Africa.

Please click here to read the Terms of Reference for the BRISMES Committee on Academic Freedom. The current members of the Committee are:

  • Neve Gordon (Chair)
    Professor of International Law and Human Rights, Queen Mary University of London
  • John Chalcraft
    Professor of Middle East History and Politics, LSE
  • James Godfrey
    PhD Researcher, Birkbeck University of London
  • Matthew Hedges
    PhD Researcher, Durham University
  • Annalisa Pavan
    Professor of International Policies on Education, University of Padova
  • Nicola Pratt
    Associate Professor of International Politics of the Middle East, University of Warwick
  • Paul Starkey
    Emeritus Professor, Durham Univeristy
  • Lewis Turner
    Lecturer in International Politics, Newcastle University
  • Zahra Tizro
    Senior Lecturer in Psychology, Univeristy of East London

 To contact the Committee, please email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it